Nomination Deadline: Co-operative Leadership Awards

Published on March 1, 2017 by Lacey

Let’s give credit where credit is due – nominate a leader from your co-op or credit union today!


ACCA is pleased to open the call for nominations for the 2017 Co-operative Leadership Awards. There are five categories for the ACCA awards, to acknowledge how individuals, and co-operatives, are contributing to advancing the co-operative movement and way of life in their communities.

The Canadian Co-operative Association and Co-operative Development Foundation of Canada is also calling for nominations for the 2017 Global Cooperator Award – Get the Nomination Form by clicking here.

Read all about the 2017 Award Criteria and Complete the Nomination Form by Friday, March 31, 2017. Nominators and nominees will be contacted in early April and can plan to attend the Co-operative Leadership Awards Celebration on May 2, 2017 at the Holiday Inn and Suites, Red Deer South.

The award categories are:

Co-operative Merit

Presented to individuals who grant outstanding and continuous service to co-operatives and/or credit unions of a local, provincial and national nature.


Co-operative Visionary Leadership

Presented for recognition of demonstrated leadership in a co-operative or credit union, at any level, that inspired others toward something better, to look beyond what is to what could be and to capture the value of the members while persevering and transcending personal interests.


Co-operative Innovation

Presented for demonstrated innovation that goes beyond the norm. Whether it’s enabling a co-op or credit union structure enhancement, or applying of one (or more) of the co-operative principles in an embroidered way, or delivering products or services that meet members’ needs where previous approaches were lacking.


Inspiring Young Co-operator

Presented for demonstrated leadership, at any level, that responds to the needs and values of younger members and/or motivates younger individuals to meaningfully participate in the co-operative.


Young Co-operative Leaders

Presented for demonstrated leadership by individuals 30 years of age or younger in co-operatives or credit unions, who exemplify co-operative values and principles.









Global Co-operator Award

The Global Co-operator Award recognizes members of Canada’s co-operative community who actively participate in and support CCA and CDF’s international development work through volunteering, advocating and/or fundraising.  This award is presented provincially, in conjunction with provincial award ceremonies.

2017 Global Cooperator Award Nominations AB

For more information visit the CCA website, or the CDF website. 



Email or fax completed nomination forms to ACCA